DUI

Clearwater DUI Attorney

Drunk Driving Defense in Florida

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs and/or alcohol is one of the most dangerous things a person can do. Yet, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), about one in three traffic fatalities in the U.S. involve a drunk driver, and in Florida such incidences are common enough to be considered a serious problem.

If you have been charged with a DUI in Florida, or if you caused a car accident while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may be feeling embarrassed, frightened, or confused. Chances are you didn’t mean any harm when you got behind the wheel after drinking or doing drugs and simply made a mistake that thousands of other drivers make annually.

At Idrizi Law Group, our Clearwater DUI attorneys understand that these cases can be trying for both sides. We will fight for your right to a fair trial and defend you in court to ensure that you receive the lightest sentence possible for your DUI.

Contact us now to speak with a Clearwater DUI defense attorney to get started.

Florida DUI laws

State law concerning driving under the influence is defined in Florida Statute 316.193 as it relates to anyone “driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle” in the state.

In Florida, a motorist can get a DUI if they are operating a motor vehicle while:

  • Under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances to the extent that their normal level of functionality is impaired. Under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired.
  • Having a blood-alcohol content (BAC) or breath-alcohol level of .08 or higher
  • Under the influence of any amount of alcohol if under 21 years of age (“zero tolerance”)

DUI arrests in Florida can also occur if you attempt to operate a vessel under the influence of alcoholic beverages or chemical or controlled substance to the extend that your normal faculties are impaired.

Punishments for Drunk Driving in Florida

If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you will be placed on probation, which will be combined with some sort of community service as well as a mandatory substance abuse course. You could also have to pay a fine worth between $500 and $4000 and lose your license temporarily or even permanently. Depending on whether your drunk driving caused any injuries or if you have a prior history of criminal activity, you could face jail time, too.

Penalties for Florida DUI convictions break down as follows:

  • First offense, BAC below.12: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, 6 months to 1 year driver’s license revocation, up to 6 month of jail time, 10 day impound of vehicle, DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, 50 hours of community service, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs.
  • First offense, BAC above .12 or if a person less than the age of 18 years of age is in the vehicle: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, 6 months to 1 year driver’s license revocation, up to 9 month of jail time, 10 day impound of vehicle, DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, 50 hours of community service, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device
  • Second DUI within 5 years of first DUI, BAC below .12: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, 5 year driver’s license revocation, mandatory 10 days jail time and up to 9 months, 30 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.
  • Second DUI within 5 years of first DUI, BAC above .12: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, 5 year driver’s license revocation, mandatory 10 days jail time and up to 12 months, 30 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

  • Second DUI outside of 5 years of first DUI, BAC below .12 or if person less than age of 18 years of age is in the vehicle: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, up to one year driver’s license revocation, up to 9 months jail, 10 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

  • Second DUI outside of 5 years of First DUI, BAC above .12 or if person less than age of 18 years of age is in the vehicle: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, up to one year driver’s license revocation, up to 12 months jail, 10 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

  • Third DUI within 10 years, BAC below .12: Adjudication of Guilt, Maximum court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, 10 year driver’s license revocation, mandatory 30 days of jail and up to 5 years, 90 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

  • Third DUI within 10 years, BAC above .12: Adjudication of Guilt, Maximum court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, 10 year driver’s license revocation, mandatory 30 days of jail and up to 5 years, 90 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative cost, interlock device.

  • Third DUI outside of 10 years, BAC below .12: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, up to one year driver’s license revocation, up to 12 months jail, 10 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

  • Third DUI outside of 10 years, BAC above .12: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, up to one year driver’s license revocation, up to 12 months jail, 10 day impound of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

  • Fourth DUI: Adjudication of Guilt, court costs and fines, up to 12 months of probation, permanent driver’s license revocation, up to 5 years jail, variable amounts of days for impoundment of vehicle, Multiple Offender DUI School, Victim Impact Panel Course, Alcohol evaluation and treatment, Random urinalysis, No alcohol, bar or clubs permitted, investigative costs, interlock device.

Penalties for Operating a vessel under the influence:

By a fine of:

  • a. Not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for a first conviction.

  • b. Not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for a second conviction; and

By imprisonment for:

  • a. Not more than 6 months for a first conviction.

  • b. Not more than 9 months for a second conviction.

DUI charges that involve a car crash resulting in property damage, bodily injury, and/or fatalities will be more severely punished.

Your best chance to avoid or mitigate penalties for driving under the influence is to hire an experienced DUI attorney lawyer who has both prosecuted and defended those accused of drunk driving. Attorney Shpresa Idrizi of Idrizi Law Group possesses the skills, legal knowledge, and dedication to provide effective, quality representation for all of your legal needs.

Call us anytime at (727) 202-5499 to find out how we can defend you against a DUI charge.

Hear From Our Past Clients

  • Wouldn't have wanted it any other way

    “She helped me the along the entire process never once did i feel left out , ignored or wondering whats going on. Besides getting into an accident, it was a great experience having Shpresa handle my case.”

    - Former Client
  • Highly recommend!

    “She guided me through the steps and got me what I deserved. Shpresa is an amazing and awesome lawyer and I would highly recommend her anyone!”

    - Irma S.
  • Thank you!

    “I will always pick the Idrizi law group over anyone else. That’s how much trust I have in her. Thank you for everything”

    - Matthew C.
  • Thank you Shpresa and team!!!

    “I am so grateful to have made the decision of hiring Shpresa as my personal injury attorney. I was seriously rear-ended and became overwhelmed with handling insurance companies.”

    - Anna M.
  • She took care of that claim fast

    “Shpresa is the best lawyer I've ever had. After my first accident, she was recommended to me by my doctor, and hiring her was the best decision I made she took care of that claim fast and made the whole situation much more pleasant.”

    - Miranda M.
/

Settlements & Verdicts

  • $250,000 Serious Injuries

    In May 2018 we recovered the bodily injury policy limits of $200,000 and the underinsured policy limits of $50,000 for both the driver and passenger of the crashed vehicle.

  • $200,000 Hit & Run Victim

    Client was using the Clearwater Beach roundabout when a distracted driver collided with him and left the scene of the accident.

  • $161,000 Serious Injuries

    In October of 2016, our clients were involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in spinal injuries to the driver.

  • $150,000 Serious Injuries

    The at-fault party was looking at the accident across the street instead of the traffic in front of him and hit our client without braking at a speed of over 50 MPH.

  • $150,000 DUI Victim

    Due to the velocity of the at-fault party’s vehicle, the victim’s car was forced to collide with the other vehicles stopped in front of her. The impact our client suffered caused injuries that required significant treatment for recovery.

  • $125,000 High Speed Collision

    Our client was awarded the bodily injury policy limit of $25,000 and was also awarded the underinsured motorist policy limit of $100,000.

  • $110,000 Side Impact Collision Resulting in Whiplash

    Our client was traveling at a legal speed when another car exiting a shopping plaza negligently collided with the passenger’s side of our client’s vehicle.

  • $100,000 Severe Injuries

    In June 2020, Idrizi Law Group demanded the policy limit for our client who experienced whiplash, substantial lower back injuries, and nerve damage which caused numbness to his fingers in both hands.

  • $100,000 Attorney Colleague Injured in Crash

    In July 2020, only 2 months after being hired, we received the maximum bodily injury policy limits for our client which resulted in a $100,000 recovery.

  • $100,000 Leg Injury

    Our client was walking back to his car at the Home Depot parking lot when a parked vehicle backed into him unexpectedly injuring his leg.

/