Understanding Personal Injury Protection
Florida motorists who are looking to change their car insurance provider may find some consistency between each company in the form of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. As one of ten states that requires this addition to your policy, Florida’s PIP mandate was designed to provide motorists with $10,000 in coverage to be used for medical expenses following an accident.
Why is Personal Injury Protection Required in Florida?
PIP requirements went into effect in 2008 as part of the Florida Motor Vehicle No Fault Law. This was done for a few reasons:
- Reduce delay of insurance payments for injured drivers.
- Reduce utilization of the court system for injury cases.
- Ensure that motorists would be protected if their accident resulted in injury.
PIP essentially aids the system in that it makes a motorist responsible for their own injuries. However, this does not mean that you can’t file a personal injury claim against another driver.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim with PIP
Since this coverage only amounts to $10,000, you can still recover damages from another driver if your medical expenses exceed this amount.
According to the National Safety Council, the average cost of an accident with an evident injury is around $28,500, and this number grows to over a million if a death occurred. While PIP can help with some of the costs, it does not account for the most severe accidents, pain and suffering, or lost wages that may occur.
Looking for Representation? We Can Help
Idrizi Law Group is a premier personal injury attorney in Pinellas County. In our decades of experience, our attorneys have represented dozens of car accident cases and recovered millions of dollars in damages for injured victims. If you are looking for representation for your car accident case, call (727) 202-5499 or fill out our contact form to get in touch with one of our attorneys.